Florida State Council

Knights of Columbus

Wounded Warriors

On December 5, 2011, Knights of Columbus representing two Fourth Degree Assemblies, three Councils and three Parishes gathered at the Carmelite Monastery in Korona, FL to honor Wounded Warriors (Purple Heart recipients) with checks totaling $5,725.00. The funds will be used by the Military Order of the Purple Heart Wounded Warrior “Home for Christmas” Program to enable Camp Lejeune and Ft. Bragg Wounded Warriors to go home for Christmas.
The funds came from after Mass collections at churches in the county and from a 3-day “all inclusive” stay at Breezes, Runaway Bay, Jamaica which was donated to the Corpus Christi Assembly 2810. Tickets were sold tickets at $10.00 each. The total donation was delivered to the Military Order of the Purple Heart.
The event was chaired by Fran Laperriere, Past Grand Knight Council of 11961. The participants in the Wounded Warrior “Home for Christmas” Program were:
• Corpus Christi Assembly 2810, Flagler Beach, FL
• Bishop Patrick Barry Assembly 2264, Palm Coast, FL
• St Mary’s Council 11961, Korona, FL
• Notre Dame Council 10514, Flagler Beach, FL
• Msgr. Leo Gilda Council 7845, Palm Coast, FL
• St Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Church, Palm Coast, FL
• Santa Maria del Mar Catholic Church, Flagler Beach, FL
• Carmelite Monastery, Korona, FL

Sir Knight Jim Schonefeld, Master of the Florida District Fourth Degree, receiving checks totaling $5,725.00 from Sir Knight Ron Hamaty, Faithful Navigator, Corpus Christi Assembly 2810.

Participants at check presentation - Front row (L): Master Jim Schonefeld, Desoto Province Vice Supreme Master Gary McLain, Faithful Navigator Ron Hamaty (Corpus Christi Assembly), Grand Knight Joe Merz (Msgr. Leo Gilda Council), Grand Knight Mel Vevera (St. Mary’s Council) and Faithful Navigator Bill Hamm (Bishop Patrick Berry Assembly).
Back row (L): PGK Francis Laperriere (St. Mary’s Council), Rudy Roberts (District Deputy #15), and PGK Ray Ruggiere (St. Mary’s Council). Not pictured: Aide to the Master John Shierling, Fourth Degree Section Leader Mark Lynn, and Grand Knight Ed Gerber (Notre Dame Council).